Pumpkin Carving and Cinnamon Roasted Pumpkin Seeds!

Halloween is one of the best times of year! When I was younger, I loved it because of the costumes and free candy. However, now I love it because it’s a big part of autumn. Seeing people decorate their front porches with pumpkins and other random things is always exciting for me. This Halloween, we’re freshly moved into our new house (woohoo!), so we won’t be doing MUCH decorating… But I’ve decided it’s important to get a little “Halloween decor” happening.

Lee, who’s like a mother to me, brought us some pretty fall decorations for our house. This is up at the front of the house, in the “dining room”. This has motivated me to put some effort into the Christmas decorating starting in November… ;)

Pretty :)

Pretty :)

Joe and I also picked up a pumpkin on our way home one evening. I’ve never had a pumpkin at Halloween before, and I’m not sure why… But for some reason, I was super excited to have it!

Hey, Pumpkin. ;)

Hey, Pumpkin. ;)

While Joe was at work, I decided to go a little crazy with our new pumpkin. It had been sitting on the front porch for about a week with no face! An outrage I say! Something needed to be done, and after watching the Food Network, I was motivated…

Here's my ugly little guy! ;)

Here's my ugly little guy! ;)

I had a bit of fun with this, but I don’t think I’ll be making a living as a pumpkin carver any time soon… Heehee… ;) Aside from the joy of getting all messy with pumpkin goo, I also got to make some roasted pumpkin seeds!!!!! THIS was very rewarding… ;) So to keep with the theme of my blog, I’m going to post my easy recipe for some sweet cinnamon roasted pumpkin seeds! You can also use this method to make salted or spicy pumpkin seeds by changing the spices that you use! Such a simple recipe, and it works so well! :)

Cinnamon Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Ingredients:

  • Pumpkin seeds from one pumpkin, cleaned with all pumpkin goo washed off
  • About 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • Pinch allspice
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp white sugar (I used some vanilla sugar, made by putting 2 cups of white sugar in a jar with two vanilla pods… Mmm!!!)

Method:

  • Pre heat oven to 300 F.
  • Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a bowl, mix all ingredients until pumpkin seeds are covered.
  • Pour mixture onto parchment paper lined baking sheet, and spread the seeds out across the paper.
  • Bake for about 50 minutes, moving the seeds around the baking sheet at 30 minutes. (Test one seed after allowing it to cool at 45 minutes to make sure they’re not burnt.)
  • Remove, and allow to cool before breaking apart any seeds that stuck together.
  • Serve in a bowl, and enjoy! :)
Yummy!

Yummy!

Have a Happy Halloween everyone! :)

3 comments on “Pumpkin Carving and Cinnamon Roasted Pumpkin Seeds!

  1. I love your pumpkin I think it’s perfect. I hope you’re having a fun Halloween! I still have seeds in the fridge but haven’t gotten around to roasting them yet…maybe I should get on that. You’ve inspired me.

    • Thanks! :)
      Halloween was nice, but not too busy as many of the houses on my street are still being built… I believe we had 2 trick-or-treaters total LOL… Hope yours was fun! :)

Leave a Reply

