Nikki’s Tabbouleh

Before meeting my husband, I had no idea what “tabbouleh” was. (He’s Egyptian, so he likes all sorts of foods that I’ve never even heard of…) He took me to a restaurant that serves this stuff, and I must admit, I found it bland. I couldn’t eat it. Making a batch of it at a family gathering with his younger sister, I learned exactly how to make it. Once I got home, I made my own batch, and changed it up a bit to suit our tastes. (Note: always start with LESS salt and pepper, as you can always add more but cannot remove any.) Also, this recipe makes a massive quantity of tabbouleh, about 8 servings worth. Just cut the recipe in half if you want to make 4 servings.

TABBOULEH

Ingredients:

  • 2 bunches fresh chopped parsley (1-1/2 cups chopped, stems removed prior to chopping)
  • 2 tbsp fresh mint leaves, chopped (stems removed)
  • 1 medium red onion, finely diced (for the half-recipe, use a small to medium red onion.)
  • 6 medium tomatoes, finely diced (use about 4 tomatoes for the half recipe.)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (or to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp pepper (or to taste)
  • 6 tbsp lemon juice
  • 4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (I’ve actually started using Green Tea Oil, I’ve included a picture in the bottom of this post.)
  • 1/2 cup bulgur (fine or medium grade) soaked for 1 hour, then drained by squeezing the water out by hand.(for the half-recipe, use about 1/3 cup.)
  • 2-6 cloves of garlic, minced (this is obviously to taste. I love garlic, so I use a lot of it… 😉 I also use 4 cloves in the half-recipe.)

Method:

  • combine parsley, mint, onion, bulgur, garlic. Stir.
  • add tomato chunks.
  • in a separate bowl, combine salt, pepper, lemon juice & oil.
  • pour dressing over salad, and stir well.
  • serve cold or room temperature with pita bread, crackers, or by itself as a solo salad! 🙂

Leave a Reply

