Banana Tofu – Trying New Things

I have never been a fan of tofu in my vegetable dishes. I’m not sure why, just something about the texture throws me off. Even when I was a vegetarian (yes, I was a vegetarian at one point) I couldn’t bring myself to eat it. However, now there seems to be so many more flavour options for tofu, which I found to be intriguing.

I told myself a few weeks ago, that I was going to put myself on a mission of trying at least one new thing every week. Two weekends ago was my first week with this new mission. My mission was a banana flavoured tofu dessert. It’s not just a dessert though, it can also be put into smoothies for a creamier texture, and fruity flavour.

My thoughts on this “dessert” are mixed. Tasting it on its own, I was not impressed. The texture, just like in the past, didn’t sit right with me one bit. The taste was even a bit off. There was a pleasant banana flavour, but then that dreaded after taste of tofu popped up. However, when mixed into a smoothie with other fruit, the banana flavour is great and there is an absence of the tofu taste.

Out of 5 stars, I give this stuff a 3. I would give it a 4, but the only way I like it is when I mix it with other fruit in a blender. So I’m not really enjoying JUST the tofu, but the mix of other fruit with it. I do however give the other fruit a 5 out of 5!

Here’s a picture of the product I bought. (It’s “Sunrise” brand, but the top of the label was cut off–oops!)

Banana Tofu Dessert
Banana Tofu Dessert
Leave a Reply

