Quick and Easy Basil Pesto

I’ve probably only had basil pesto once in my life before, and it was pretty good. Not something I would want to eat every day, but a nice creamy sauce for pasta and chicken. I’ve made creamy pasta sauces before, so I thought I’d test out a pesto sauce with some of the items that I had on hand at home. I was pleasantly surprised with how this turned out, and I’m guessing that my husband loved it too, considering he ate the second half of my meal after finishing his own. πŸ˜‰ Here’s my version of a light basil pesto! πŸ™‚

This recipe makes enough sauce for 2 people.

QUICK AND EASY BASIL PESTO

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 tsp ground basil (fresh or dried works)Β 
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4-5 tsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • 4 tsp fat free cream cheese
  • 4-5 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Dash salt and pepper

Method:

  • Combine ground basil, minced garlic, parmesan cheese, cream cheese, olive oil, salt, and pepper in a bowl and stir well.
  • Cook your chicken and pasta as you normally would, and serve in a bowl.
  • Put desired amount of sauce onto chicken and pasta, and toss until the pasta and chicken are coated.
  • Eat and enjoy! πŸ™‚
  • note: for a less intense, creamier sauce, add an extra tsp of the cream cheese and/orΒ 1 tsp of fat free margarine.
whole wheat pasta with chicken and basil pesto

whole wheat pasta with chicken and basil pesto

basil pesto sauce in a bowl

basil pesto sauce in a bowl

2 comments on “Quick and Easy Basil Pesto

    • I didn’t even know they had a cookbook. Good to know though! The magic
      bullet one definitely looks more simple than mine! I should get one of
      those… However, it is a slightly different recipe. But really, every
      pesto recipe is so similar that it’s easy to mistake one for another.

      If you want to see the magic bullet basil pesto recipe for reference,
      here is a copy of the recipe post on recipezaar.com. I had to Google
      it because they don’t have the pesto recipe on their website from what
      I can see. (Is this the recipe from the actual cookbook?)

      Magic Bullet Presto Pesto

      Ingredients
      12 fresh basil leaves
      2 tablespoons pine nuts
      2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
      1 teaspoon coarse salt
      2 garlic cloves
      10 g vegetarian parmesan cheese

      Directions
      1) Place everything in the tall cup and fit the cross blade.
      2) Process to a grainy paste.
      3) Fit the steamer lid and microwave for 3 minutes.
      4) Stir the sauce through cooked pasta.

      http://www.recipezaar.com/Magic-Bullet-Presto-Pesto-196454

Leave a Reply

