Tomato Tart on Puff Pastry

Out of my Canadian Living cookbook, I tend to find many gems. I don’t always quite follow the recipe as is, but use it as a general guideline to prepare something mouthwatering.

The following recipe is an idea based from the Heirloom Tomato Tart (as named in the cookbook). Here, I will post the alternate recipe that I put together from this recipe. I made this on the home made quick puff pastry rather than buying a ready-made pastry. (I love doing as much as possible from scratch!) Here is the link to the quick puff pastry!  When following the recipe exactly as is, the pastry turns out amazing. Light and crispy, and the perfect base for many foods! You can make the pastry a day in advance, wrap it in waxed paper and a zip lock bag, and that way you have it on hand for immediate use.

Because I only made enough for my husband and I, I cut the pastry recipe in half. (I even only used half of the pastry that I had made to make 2 servings of the tomato tart. So 1/4 of the full pastry recipe will make 2 servings of the tomato tart.)

This recipe makes 2 servings.

 Nikki’s Version of the Tomato Tart on Quick Puff Pastry

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 of the full batch of pastry
  • 1/2 cup sliced cherry tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4-6 minced garlic cloves
  • 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten and set aside in a bowl
  • 1/2 cup shredded marble cheese
  • 1 tsp each dried thyme and rosemary (or to taste)

Method:

  • Line 2 baking sheets with waxed paper and set aside.
  • Cut pastry in half. On a lightly floured surface, roll out each piece of pastry into a thin square (about 1-2mm thick). Transfer to one of the prepared pans. Prick the pastry all over with a fork or toothpick and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  • Slice tomatoes, and mix the slices in a bowl with the oil, garlic, salt and pepper and spread on the second prepared pan. Bake for about 30 minutes at 400°F (200°C) until shriveled. Set aside to cool.
  • Remove the pastry from the fridge. Brush a light layer of the egg wash over the pastry and bake (in the middle rack) at 400°F until light golden and puffed, 12 to 15 minutes. Allow to cool. Brush pastry again with egg wash.
  • Sprinkle with cheese, leaving a 1/2 inch border. Place the tomato mixture over the cheese. Sprinkle thyme and rosemary over each tart. Bake for about 12-15 minutes, until puffed and golden. Allow to cool for a few minutes, and then cut into smaller pieces.
  • Serve at any temperature.
  • Note: You can also store in air-tight containers in the fridge overnight, and re-heat for about 5 minutes at 350°F.
The Tomato Tart "better than pizza"

The Tomato Tart "better than pizza" lol

5 comments on “Tomato Tart on Puff Pastry

  1. This looks great! I haven’t tried making many puff pastry dishes, but the growing season came so late this year that a lot of gardens are still overflowing with tomatoes here, so this would be a good candidate.

    • It is definitely worth a try!
      This was my first time making (and using) puff pastry for anything really. (With the exception of phyllo dough, if that’s even a puff pastry…)
      And I’ve got to say that it gives a very nice airy texture to the base of the food,and is such a nice change from breads and doughs that you would normally do this sort of thing on.

  2. This recipe comes at the perfect time. I have been wondering what to do with all my little cherry ripe tomatoes. I think I will have to try this in the very near future.

  3. Thanks for signing up on Foodista! This is a lovely recipe. There’s nothing better than a yummy tomato tart. I’m harvesting the last of my tomatoes and plan on making this very tart this weekend! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

