Eggnog Latté

With the holiday season upon us, I’m reminded of the many reasons why I love this time of year. I love the look of the first snow fall (well, any snow fall…) before the cars and pollution turn the bright, sparkling snow into a dirty brown slush. I love candy canes. I love the way downtown Toronto looks with Christmas decorations, and the huge Christmas tree at Nathan Phillips Square. I love having Christmas lights on in the evenings. I love seeing my dog Buddy run around in the snow while trying to eat it. I love going for walks on a mild winter evening with my husband, and a hot chocolate in hand. Most of all, I love the smell (and taste!) of Christmas cooking! Anything from baking (fudge, candy, cookies, yummy!) to holiday themed beverages. It’s no surprise that with my love of Starbucks, I get extra excited about the holiday themed beverages that come out at this time of year! One of my all time favourites is their Eggnog Latté. Sadly, because they use the full fat eggnog, I only enjoy these once in a while. (Avoiding bad fats whenever possible is important in maintaining good health!) Luckily for my taste buds, while grocery shopping last winter I found a light eggnog by Beatrice. So I thought to myself, “self, you should make a non-fat eggnog latté at home!” It’s pretty simple to make a latté at home, even if you don’t have a steamer for the milk. Here’s my recipe for a simple non-fat version of an eggnog latté. Enjoy! 🙂

Nikki’s Eggnog Latté

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 or 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup Beatrice light eggnog (110 calories per 1/2 cup serving, 0g fat, 23g carbs, 4.5g protein) note: if you’re not a fan of eggnog, try this recipe with chocolate milk!
  • a dash – 1/4 tsp nutmeg (use less nutmeg, then add more if you want to. Some people find the flavour of nutmeg too intense.)
  • 1 serving espresso (I recommend using the Starbucks Christmas Blend of coffee bean if you happen to have grinder on hand at home and are familliar with how to brew espresso, because it has a great flavour that compliments these types of beverages. If you’re unable to brew your own espresso, instant espresso powder will work. You can also make it a double shot if you really want to!)
  • Dash cinnamon and nutmeg to garnish
  • Sugar is optional if you like your beverage sweeter, but not necessary.

Method:

  • In a sauce pan, combine and heat milk, nutmeg and eggnog over medium heat until hot, stirring constantly. (Time depends on your stove, I usually heat for about 2-3 minutes. You can also heat the mixture in the microwave at 30 second intervals until the liquid has reached the desired temperature, stirring every 30 seconds to ensure a balanced temperature.)
  • Pour 3/4 of the mixture into your mug. Set aside the other 1/4 of the mixture in a glass. (For extra foam, use the frother for about 10 seconds in the 3/4 mixture that’s in the mug.)
  • Prepare and pour your shot of espresso into the mug with the 3/4 of the mixture.
  • Using a handheld milk frother ($8-$15 at Kitchen Stuff Plus), froth the remaining 1/4 of the mixture, and use a spoon to apply the froth to the beverage.
  • Sprinkle with a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg for garnish.
  • Drink, and enjoy! 🙂
Eggnog Latte

Frothy, and ready to drink 🙂

Leave a Reply

