Vegetarian Chocolate Pudding

I have a great love of chocolate. We seem to be drawn to eachother, and there is no way I can resist chocolate’s sweet temptation. Many things I make and enjoy contain chocolate, however with a few lifestyle changes taking place (leaning more in the direction of a higher percentage of raw foods in my diet, and vegetarianism being a huge influence in what I’m putting into my body now), I’ve found that I eat less of this lovely food. Luckily for me, higher quality cocoa powder is quite tasty and satisfies that chocolate craving. 😉

Looking for vegetarian dessert recipes, I found a few different things on recipe websites, but many of them had avacado (which I’m not a fan of), or other ingredients that I didn’t have in stock at home. So with a little inspiration from many different vegetarian recipe websites, (and the main chocolate pudding recipe I found on http://happyfoody.blogspot.com ) I put together this sinfully delicious chocolate pudding. It tastes like a combination of a rich chocolate pudding, and a decadent, moist chocolate cake. I was in heaven when eating this, and judging by the fact that my husband was licking the bowl, I’d say it passed the husband-taste-test also. 😉

Vegeterian Chocolate Pudding

 (Recipe serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup dates, pitted and soaked in water for about 10 minutes
  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup combined honey and maple syrup (or just honey, and omit the maple syrup)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 cup cranberries
  • 1/4 cocoa powder
  •  about 1/4 cup water

Method:

  • Place all ingredients (and only half of the water) in a blender (or food processor), and blend until smooth, wiping down the sides of the blender every 1 minute to ensure that all ingredients are blended. If the pudding is too thick after 2 minutes, add the remaining water and continue blending. There will still be tiny pieces of almonds, but that’s okay.
  • Pour into a vowl, and chill for about 10-15 minutes.
  • Serve, and enjoy! 🙂

Vegetarian Chocolate Pudding

One comment on “Vegetarian Chocolate Pudding

  1. Pingback: Rich & Raw Vegan Chocolate Cake « Cook With Nikki

Leave a Reply

