Zucchini Raw “Pasta” with Tomato and Red Bell Pepper Sauce

In a never-ending quest to incorporate more raw foods into my diet, and with my love of trying new things, I decided to go raw in the kitchen for dinner last night. I love (whole wheat) pasta, but unfortunately it’s not as appetizing uncooked. So I consulted with Google to learn about what “raw foodists” eat when they’re craving some pasta. Zucchini! I’ve never really eaten zucchini except for when it’s been tossed into a vegetable stir-fry, but thought that I might as well try it seeing as so many people recommended it. I also made a tomato sauce to accompany my raw “pasta”. I must admit that I was skeptical of this whole experience, but was pleasantly surprised! The dish was quite filling, and was so full of fresh veggie flavour! 🙂 I encourage all of you out there to continue trying new ideas for each of your meals; you’ll be amazed at the new tastes you discover.

Zucchini Raw “Pasta” with Tomato and Red Bell Pepper Sauce

(Recipe serves 2)

“Pasta” Ingredients:

  • 3 small zucchini (or 1-2 large zucchini)

Method:

  • Cut the bottom end off of the zucchini, leaving the top end as something for you to hold on to.
  • Peel the skin off of the zucchini, leaving about 1 inch of skin at the top to hold while you make your “pasta”.
  • Once the skin is removed from the majority of the zucchini, continue to peel the vegetable into strips until you can’t peel anymore. Do this for each zucchini.
  • Place all of the strips in the bowl. Set aside.

Sauce Ingredients:

  • 2 medium tomatoes, or 1/2 small carton grape/cherry tomatoes
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 5-6 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 of a jalapeño pepper, finely chopped (optional if you like extra spice!)
  • dash of ground coriander
  • dash of celery salt

Method:

  • Place all sauce ingredients in a blender or food processor.
  • Blend until smooth sauce is formed.

To serve:

  • Fill your bowl with zucchini “pasta”, pour the sauce on top, and garnish with some freshly chopped basil, and enjoy! 🙂 If you don’t want to go 100% raw or vegetarian for this meal, you can even top your dish with some grated parmesan cheese.

 Raw "Pasta" with sauce

2 comments on “Zucchini Raw “Pasta” with Tomato and Red Bell Pepper Sauce

  1. Yum, I love zucchini ‘pasta’, good choice! I’ve been doing a fully vegan diet this month and tried some from Live Food Bar, it was delicious.

    A friend recommended kelp noodles to me, which I’ve also tried (also from Live). If you can find them, apparently this recipe is amazing. I found the kelp noodles a bit more crunchy/chewy than the zucchini ones, and they soak up whatever sauce you put on them.

    • Thanks! 🙂 I never knew how versatile zucchini was! 🙂
      Fully vegan? Were you vegetarian prior to this? That has definitely got to be a challenge to go fully vegan… Way to go! 🙂

      Kelp noodles…I will look into that for sure, thanks! I’ve heard from a few people that Live is a great restaurant, I think I’ll check it out really soon…

Leave a Reply

