House Cake Project: Stage 1 – Learning To Work With Rolled Fondant

So the cake pictured in this post isn’t quite what it seems. 😉 What appears to be a cake, is really just a tupperware container covered in fondant icing. 🙂 There is no recipe for this entry, but I felt like posting the initial steps of a project that I am practicing for seeing as once I start officially working on this project, I will be posting more pictures of my progress.

The project: In October 2010, my husband and I will be moving into our brand new detached house in Milton. (As of this moment, our lot is literally just a patch of dirt!) What does this have to do with food? A cake. A project that I am giving myself (fully inspired by the TLC show “Cake Boss”) is to design, build and decorate a cake that is a replica of our home. (Hopefully I can get the detail right down to the brick colour!)

Luckily we have a picture of what the house will look like, so I’ll have something to work off of for practice prior to when the house is ready for us to move in.

Here’s the picture of what our new home is going to look like:

Here’s the picture of my fondant “cake” #1 – learning how to use rolled fondant:

2 comments on “House Cake Project: Stage 1 – Learning To Work With Rolled Fondant

Leave a Reply

