House Cake Project: Stage 2 – Decorating My 1st Cake With Rolled Fondant

The other night, I was making some apple cinnamon mini-muffins, when I realized that I had a lot of extra batter left over. So I decided to make a mini-cake in the shape of a heart! (Kitchen Stuff Plus has some great prices on heart shaped mini-cake pans.) I iced the cake once it was cool, and left it in the fridge overnight. When I returned home from work last night, I busted out the rolled fondant, and got to work on my first official decorated cake! 🙂 I’m not posting any recipes in this entry as it is just a basic cake and cream cheese icing (store bought!!), but I will post a few pictures of the cake as I went along. There are no pictures of the icing of the cake, but that’s not quite the point of this entry… I really just want to show my progress on working with rolled fondant. 😉

stage 1

Stage 1

Stage 2

Stage 2

Stage 3

Stage 3

Leave a Reply

