Curried Chickpeas On Steamed Brown Rice

On my walk {part of the way} home from work both yesterday and the day before, I could smell dinner cooking in a few of the homes that I was passing. One of the smells that seemed to be constant was curry. Growing up, I was never a fan of curry, but as I got older my palette matured/changed. {Funny how my mum was always right about that happening!} I started to find a taste for curry {in small amounts}, among many other foods I never thought I’d like. {I used to hate garlic, but it is now a staple in so many things I make! I just love the smell/taste of fresh garlic, raw or cooked!} Last night, I actually craved curry! With my last curry adventure, I made curried chicken. I wasn’t quite in the mood for chicken, so I opted for some curried chickpeas, and paired the dish with some steamed brown rice. {Thanks to Joel & Adelaide for the rice and vegetable steamer! GREAT way to prepare food!} I’ve worked in some kitchen madness coming up with {what I find to be} the perfect combination of spices to make this dish super tasty without being too overwhelming to a person who may not be used to the taste of curry. I don’t like heavy sauces and dressings, and I’m not a fan of large amounts of curry all at once, so you’ll find this recipe to be quite light and tasty. 🙂 Here’s my recipe for curried chickpeas!

This combination of spices can also be used for curried chicken, potatoes and carrots, or many other things. Enjoy! 🙂 This recipe makes about 4 servings.
Curried Chickpeas On Steamed Brown Rice

Ingredients:
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed well
  • 1/2 red onion, finely diced
  • 4-5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tomatoes, diced
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 3/4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • spices:
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp ground corriander seed
  • dash nutmeg
  • dash ground cloves
  • dash cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cellery salt
  • dash dry mustard powder
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • dash red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
Method:
  • Combine all spices in a small bowl, and set aside.
  • In a large pot, heat the olive oil and vinegar over medium heat for 5 minutes.
  • Add the garlic and onion, and cook for five minutes, stirring frequently.
  • Add the chickpeas, tomato and broth.
  • Add the bowl of spices.
  • Stir the contents of the pot until mixed together, and cook covered over medium heat for 15 minutes. (Stir every 5 minutes.)
  • Reduce Heat to low-medium, and simmer for 60 minutes. (Stir every 5-10 minutes.)
  • Remove from heat, and serve over steamed brown rice. (Or any type of rice you like!)
  • Note: The chickpeas keep VERY well in the fridge over night. To heat them up the next day {as I’ve done today for lunch 😉 }, simply warm them up in the microwave for about 2 minutes. Somehow, they taste even better the next day!
curried chickpeas on steamed brown rice

curried chickpeas on steamed brown rice

Just for something a little random:

When I’m in the kitchen making something off of the top of my head, I often keep a notepad to quickly write down notes {ah, chicken scratch!} of the ingredient quantities so that I don’t forget. If I don’t do this, chances are I’ll never remember what I’ve put into the dish. Anyways, here’s a snapshot of my madness from when I was going through the stages of “spice-taste-spice-taste-spice-taste…etc…” while getting the exact flavour that I wanted for this dish. 🙂

my madness

my madness

2 comments on “Curried Chickpeas On Steamed Brown Rice

Leave a Reply

