Sponge Toffee

Here is *sigh* entry 4 of 4 from my “Easter Weekend” baking blitz. Sponge Toffee, adapted from the Canadian Living Holiday Cookbook Limited Edition. (This magazine/cookbook has some real goodies inside! 😉 ) The only thing I did different for this recipe, was substitute the white corn syrup for organic liquid honey. In almost any recipe, you can make that type of substitute. (Visit the Joy of Baking’s website for a full list of ingredient substitutions. There you will find one of THE most accurate and extensive substitution lists, you’ll never need to look anywhere again! A life saver: I’ve visited this website on many occasions when I’m lost half way through a recipe.)

As I’m sitting here, 1 1/2 weeks after making this batch, I am eating a piece of this stuff. It keeps VERY well in an air tight container for up to 1 month (maybe longer). And having caught Joe sneaking into the container when he though I wasn’t looking, I can confidently say that these taste pretty awesome! 😉 So, I’ll stop yammering on and give you the recipe already! Enjoy! 😉

Note: I am providing the full recipe. I made half of the recipe, and that makes a LOT of sponge toffee…

Sponge Toffee

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups granulated white sugar
  • 2/3 cup liquid honey (the magazine says to use white corn syrup. no thanks!)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Note: You will need a candy thermometer for this recipe. Please, go out to Kitchen Stuff Plus (or whatever you have near you), and spring for a $5-$8 clip-on “candy and deep fry” thermometer before attempting any recipes that require you to make something to “hard crack”, or ANY crack stage for that matter… It will save you SO MUCH frustration. If you follow the whole “soft ball” technique of dropping a bit in a glass of cold water, your mixture may have already surpassed the stage you’re trying to attain once you’ve finished your “water test”. I offer this tip out of much experience in trial & error… More error than success… 😉

Method:

  • In a large pot, mix sugar, honey and water. Dissolve the sugar over medium heat.
  • Clip the candy thermometer to the side of the pot (with the thermometer on the inside of the pot 😉 ) ensuring the tip is submerged but no touching the bottom of the pot.
  • Bring the mixture to a boil over medium heat, without stirring. Occasionally, use a pastry brush to apply a light amount of water around the inside of the pot so that none of the sugar crystallizes while boiling.
  • Allow to boil without stirring, until the mixture reaches 300 F on the thermometer. (This is “hard crack” stage, and will take about 10 minutes, so be patient!)
  • Remove from heat the SECOND you see 300 F. With your face far enough from the pot, quickly whisk in the baking soda. (Note: it will bubble and splatter a bit, and will puff up, so make sure any pets or kids are out of the way!)
  • Quickly whisk in the vanilla.
  • Pour into a greased metal cake pan (13- x 9- inch), and allow to cool without touching for about 2 hours. (The magazine suggests to: grease the cake pan, line it with foil, then grease the foil. You can do this if you like, but some of the foil still may sick to the toffee.)
  • Once set, break into many pieces, and eat eat eat! 🙂 And um… Share some… 😉
  • Optional: If you like Crunchie Bars, you can make them now! Simply melt some of your favourite chocolate, and then dip the finished toffee in the melted chocolate. Allow to set on a parchment paper lined baking sheet, then devour!
300: I AM SPARTA!!! wait. no. ADD BAKING SODA!!!!

300: I AM SPARTA!!! wait. no. ADD BAKING SODA!!!!

whisk it fast!

whisk it fast!

vanilla is being whisked in now... not quite ready to pour into the pan!

vanilla is being whisked in now... not quite ready to pour into the pan!

you're good to go, POUR POUR POUR!!!!

you're good to go, POUR POUR POUR!!!!

in the pan, don't touch for 2 hours!

in the pan, don't touch for 2 hours!

oh yeah, that's the stuff... ;) finished product!!

oh yeah, that's the stuff... 😉 finished product!!

11 comments on “Sponge Toffee

    • Thanks!
      Hmm… Well if you’ve ever had a Cadbury Crunchie Bar, then you’ve had sponge toffee! 😉

  1. Seriously my favorite childhood candy…covered in chocolate and called seafoam. I was salivating while reading this. Looks so easy!

    I’m kinda mad at you for not posting it first, but I’m sure I’ll get over it 🙂

    • Seafoam… I’ve heard that name for it before!
      This recipe makes so much of it, that I’m now shocked by how much stores can get away with charging for it, lol
      awwww, well better late than never in posting it! 😉
      I should dip the remains of this batch in chocolate…

  2. Hi there I tried this recipe and some call for vinegar. You really think it’s necessary to add vinegar? Cuz your recipe doesn’t need it. Thanks! 🙂

    • Some do call for vinegar, yes… I just followed it as it was in the Canadian Living magazine though, and had great results 🙂

  3. Was very happy to find a sponge toffee recipe that didn’t have corn syrup.

    I made a basic kitchen mistake, following the recipe exactly instead of following my nose. Cooking sugar to 300 degrees in Calgary is just into “burnt” territory.

    The sugar was a nice toffee colour/smell at around 250 degrees so I plan to make another batch this week to see if the recipe works at a lower temperature.

    The best this about screwing up sponge toffee is it melts away down the drain.

    • Yeah, it’s definitely better to go with your instincts! Mine turned out just right with the temperature called for in the magazine, but different pressure in the air has an impact on how a recipe works – I guess for candy, too, in this case! 🙂
      Glad you found a way to make the recipe work for you 🙂

  4. When I lived in England, there was this little ice cream shop that did sponge toffee ice cream. Oh. My. Word. It was delicious – I might have to make that at some point, too. 🙂

    • Wait a second… sponge toffee ice cream?!?!?! That sounds SOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!! I may pick up some frozen yogurt and toss some of this stuff in there… It’s funny that someone comments on this, I’ve been debating whether or not I was going to make any this year. Now I think I’ll have to. 🙂
      Hope the recipe works out for you! 🙂 And for sure, the corn syrup is just something I don’t like to use. I try to replace honey any time I see corn syrup as an ingredient, and 9 times out of 10 it works! I actually made some chocolate caramel candies yesterday, and used honey in the place of corn syrup, and they turned out amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

