Daring Cooks Challenge – April 2010 – Brunswick Stew

The 2010 April Daring Cooks challenge was hosted by Wolf of Wolf’s Den. She chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make Brunswick Stew. Wolf chose recipes for her challenge from The Lee Bros. Southern Cookbook by Matt Lee and Ted Lee, and from the Callaway, Virginia Ruritan Club.  

When I saw the original recipe list for this challenge, I will be honest… I almost baked out of it. Luckily for me, variations were allowed for this recipe. Meats could be taken out for those of us not wanting to use meat, and vegetables could be substituted for other ones. {The original recipes both call for a few different types of meat, and although I’ll have small amounts of meat here and there, I really didn’t feel comfortable with the quantities…}For the challenge, I did version #2 out of the 2 recipes provided, and have listed the original recipe at the bottom of this post. Here is a list of the ingredients that I used in my no-meat version of the Brunswick Stew. {However, I did use a beef broth. Normally I would have changed that to vegetable broth.}

Brunswick Stew For The Daring Cooks Challenge – April 2010

Ingredients:

  • No meat, but did use beef broth
  • 1 large diced potato
  • 1 small-medium crushed tomato
  • No onions, used 1 tsp onion powder
  • No Lima beans, used frozen veggie mix of corn, green beans and peas, 1 1/2 cups total
  • No bacon
  • 1 1/4 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • “poultry seasoning”
  • No red pepper, used dash cayenne pepper with dash black pepper
  • 1 diced carrot
  • Tomato juice
  • Quantities were reduced significantly for my version of this recipe, as there are only two of us to feed.

Method:

  • In a large stock pot, add all of the ingredients and bring to a boil. {Fill up the pot with enough broth and tomato juice to just barely cover all of the vegetables.}
  • Reduce heat to between low and medium, and simmer (stirring occasionally) until the vegetables are tender and the liquid has become thicker. {I prefer things that are more like a stew, and less like a soup. It may not look as pretty, but it tastes great! So for me, it was ready once it looked like it does in the picture below! 🙂 }
    Brunswick Stew (Vegetable)

    Brunswick Stew (Vegetable)

    The recipe as listed on the challenge: 

    Ingredients:

    2 1/2 lb TOTAL diced stewed chicken, turkey, and ham, with broth – yes, all three meats
    3 medium diced potatoes
    2 medium ripe crushed tomatoes
    2 medium diced onions
    3 cups/ 689.76 grams / 24.228oz frozen corn
    1 1/2 cups / 344.88 grams / 12.114oz frozen lima beans
    4-5 strips crumbled bacon, 1/2 stick / 4 tablespoons / 1/4 cup / 56.94 grams / 2oz of butter
    1 Tablespoon / 14.235 grams / .5 oz sugar
    1 Tablespoon / 14.235 grams / .5 oz ‘Poultry Seasoning’
    Dash of red pepper
    2 diced carrots (optional)
    Tomato juice

    Method:In large stock pot or Dutch Oven, mix all ingredients, heat until bubbly and hot. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add tomato juice as desired. Cook until all vegetables are tender. Serve hot.Serves about 10 (can cut in half) 

     

     

     

8 comments on “Daring Cooks Challenge – April 2010 – Brunswick Stew

    • Thank you for the compliment! 🙂 It’s not the prettiest of stews (some of the others doing the challenge… Woah! Their sews looked like art!) but it is yummy! I will be making this one again for sure though, but with vegetable broth instead.

  1. Well done! It looks very similar to what I get at the Blue Ridge Folklife Festival from the Ruritans themselves, albeit with less meat.}:P

    • Thanks! 🙂 And yeah, I’d imagine that theirs would be a nice hot bowl of meat with a bit of stew on top… 😉 (I think my husband would love that hahahahaha)

      • LOL, he probably would! }:P When we did the vegetarian DC Challenge a few months back, I had to cook up a chicken breast for the hubby so he’d be happy.}:P

        • Oh my, that’s too funny… I’ve done the exact same thing a few times for mine!!! Lol
          I used to eat chicken a lot, and one of my “signature dishes” (that sounds a bit snooty, haahaha) was chicken, he actually used to call it “Nikki chicken”.. He was so sad when I kept making vegetarian dishes, so sometimes I’ll cook up chicken for him. The poor guys, hahahaha

  2. I almost backed out too because I’m not a fan of stew or meat. I persevered as I didn’t want to bail on my first go-round. Surprisingly, I really liked the stew and would definitely make it again.

    • Yeah, it was my first also, so I would have had to wait another whole month! 😦 I checked your out, and it looks so tasty!!!!! It’s so good with vegetable ingredients, isn’t it! I just don’t know what “seitan” is, I should look that up…
      Good call to sauté the onions before adding them to the stew! I did that with my french onion soup, but didn’t think to do that with this…

Leave a Reply

