Orange Chicken and Brown Rice Stir-Fry

After watching a few shows on the Food Network this weekend, I was inspired to try something with the last orange sitting in the fruit drawer of the fridge. This chef on one of the shows made some orange glazed chicken breast, but I didn’t want to do a glaze. I wanted to introduce some orange flavour to the whole dish, rather than just the chicken. I’m a big fan of making stir-fry dishes, so decided to get to work on some zestingย and juicing, and prepared a super tasty dish that Joe and I were both pleasantly surprised with! {There has been a few -um, maybe more than a few- times where I’ve gotten into this “creative mood”, and the results weren’t as appealing as you’d imagine… My experience with quinoa just to name one…} I also figured that since lemon and lime both go so well with garlic, what’s to say that orange won’t as well? I cannot stress how happy I am that I tried this, because now I have a new flavour for a quick and easy dish to prepare when I’m low on time/have a hungry and impatient husband. Here’s the recipe, enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚ This recipe serves 2.ย 

Orange Chicken and Brown Rice Stir-Fryย 

Ingredients:ย 

  • 1 or 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Pinch of salt
  • Cayenne pepper to taste {I used about 1/2 tsp total}
  • 1 large orange
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • About 1/2 cup red onion, diced
  • About 2 tbsp liquid honey
  • 1/2 cup dry brown rice
  • 1 medium-sized carrot, cut into thin strips/batons

Method:ย 

  • Using a cheese grater, grate the zest off of the whole orange. {Only grate the orange part of the skin. You don’t want any of the white parts, or it will be bitter!} Then, slice the orange in half and juice it into a bowl. Set aside.
  • Mince the garlic if not already done, and add to the orange zest.
  • Dice the onion if not already done, and set aside.
  • Cook the rice as directed on the package. {You can boil or steam, this time I boiled. Fill a pot 3/4 of the way with water, add the rice, bring the water to a boil, stir occasionally, reduce heat to medium-high and continue to lightly boil for 15-17 minutes. Drain, then scoop rice into a bowl and set aside.}
  • Heat the extra virgin olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the chicken, and cook until no longer pink on the insides. {For my stir-fry, I cut the chicken into smaller pieces as I’m cooking. Gradually, they become bite sized pieces. This also allows me to make sure the chicken is cooked properly.}
  • Add the pinch of salt, carrot strips/batons orange zest and garlic to the chicken and stir.
  • Add the orange juice and honey and stir.
  • Increase the heat to medium-high, and add the orange juice. Stir.
  • Add the cayenne pepper. {If you’re not into spicy foods, you can reduce the amount used here, or omit it all together. I encourage you to keep at least a dash of cayenne though, as the honey really helps to make it less intense!}
  • Cook all ingredients together for about 8 minutes, stirring constantly. The liquids will thicken up a bit, but they shouldn’t fully dry out.
  • Reduce heat to medium, and add the rice. Stir, and allow to cook for about 2 more minutes.
  • Remove from heat, and serve! ๐Ÿ™‚
Dinner is served! ;)

Dinner is served! ๐Ÿ˜‰

6 comments on “Orange Chicken and Brown Rice Stir-Fry

  1. I never tried stir-fry with an orange before, I think this recipe may inspire me to try it!! This looks delicious!

    Do you have a Twitter account? I think I’d like to “follow” you to receive more cool recipes from you!

    • Thanks! It definitely is a delicious combination! ๐Ÿ™‚ The zest gives the best smells and flavours…
      I don’t currently have a Twitter account as I wouldn’t really use it all that much… Not even sure how to fully set it up actually lol…

      • I actually just started using it recently (while never using it before), and it’s a *great* way to connect with other people who enjoy cooking as well!

        Happy cooking!

        • Good to know! ๐Ÿ™‚ I may check it out at some point… I’ve always been interested in the quick-sharing of recipes on Twitter. It would be quite the challenge in 140 characters!

          • Yes, for sure the 140 character limit is quite the challenge :)! That’s why sites like http://bit.ly/ is very useful. I just started my own blog for recipes, and it’s helped me find other recipes as well.. if you ever have any questions, don’t hesitate on asking!

Leave a Reply

