Daring Cooks Challenge – July 2010 – Nut Butters

The July 2010 Daring Cooksโ€™ Challenge was hosted by Margie of More Please and Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies. They chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make their own nut butter from scratch, and use the nut butter in a recipe. Their sources include Better with Nut Butter by Cooking Light Magazine, Asian Noodles by Nina Simonds, and Food Network online.

The original post and recipes can be viewed here! My variation of this challenge is below, enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

When I first looked at this challenge, I thought “Nut butter? Really?!? I JUST made a post about my own almond butter!” But then ย I realized that I had jumped to conclusions about this challenge! The core of the challenge is not only to make your own nut butter, but to include this nut butter in a savory recipe. So that means: no peanut butter cookies. This actually IS a challenge for me, as I’ve never really been a fan of having nuts involved in savory dishes. {Unless, of course, you include pecans in a salad or something to that extent…}

I wanted to try something different from what I’d usually eat, and this definitely ended up being something I would have never made had I not joined the Daring Kitchen! Rather than use the basic nut butters provided, I decided to go for it with experimentation! I whipped… Um… Actually, I blended together a fancy little nut butter sauce! It was mentioned on the website that using a blender for tougher nuts like almonds may be a bit hard, but I’ve found quite the opposite as long as I only make 1/2 cup at a time. But either way, you can use a blender, food processor, or a mortar andย pestle.

So I’ll stop rambling, and give you my recipe for a tasty sauce made from two different types of nut butters, and a savory dish to use the sauce on! This recipe makes 2-3 servings! ๐Ÿ™‚

Pecan Peanut Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup pecan pieces
  • 1/4 cup peanut pieces
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • About 1/2 tbsp pressed/minced fresh ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • Dash of chili powder
  • 1 tbsp liquid honey
  • 2 tbsp warm water { +/- depending on how thin or thick you want the sauce}

Method:

  • Combine your pecan and peanut pieces in a blender {or food processor}, and make some nut butter! To avoid repetition in this blog, click here to see how I’ve made my nut butter in the past! While the mixture of nuts is still in a crumb form, add in all of the other ingredients. Continue to blend until the desiredย consistencyย is reached. It’s best to blend at 10-20 second intervals if using a blender, that way you can scrape down the sides and stir it in between blends to ensure a uniform texture.

I used this sauce on:

Egg white fried brown rice with finely chopped frozen veggies. Simply boil or steam your rice according to the package directions. Drain, and rinse with cold water to stop cooking. Set aside. In a frying pan, add egg whites {about 1 egg white per 1/2 cup cooked rice} and frozen veggies. Cook over medium heat for about 2 minutes. Then, add the rice, and continue to cook until egg is cooked and veggies are tender. Make sure you’re stirring constantly so that the rice doesn’t burn!

To serve: Place the fried rice in a bowl or on a plate, and then pour your sauce on top! Eat, and enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

Dinner is served! :)

Dinner is served! ๐Ÿ™‚

16 comments on “Daring Cooks Challenge – July 2010 – Nut Butters

  1. I love your sauce, the fried rice, and the presentation – what a fantastic dish you prepared for this challenge. Your pictures are beautiful and the meal sounds scrumptious. Awesome job with the challenge!!

  2. That final dish does look luscious and the combination of nut butters is inspired well done on this challenge. I like the idea of egg whites also. Cheers from the Audax in Sydney Australia.

    • Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m just thankful that I didn’t end up wasting a bunch of nuts attempting to try something new! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I was tempted to use chicken, but it was a common thing being used, and I’m trying to keep the meat eating to a minimum… Luckily the flavour of the brown rice went really well with the nut butter based sauce ๐Ÿ™‚ I got lucky with the veggies lol

  3. Peanut and pecan together? Sounds like a good balance! And the meal looks really good, simple but with a bit of a wow factor on the presentation. GREAT job on the challenge! Thank you for sharing your fin and creativity with us!!

    • Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I usually find pecans a bit bitter, but the peanut gave it that little “something else” to take away the bitterness. ๐Ÿ™‚
      By the time I got a picture that was even remotely worth displaying, my food was ice cold hahahahah

  4. It’s a good thing there are places like this we can come and expand our horizons. First, we’d never done Nut Butters and now that we have there will be more. But, after reading your post we’re a little embarrassed to say we probably never would have thought it ok to put two different nuts in the same butter – probably not what we’ll try next, but at least it’s now in our heads. Thanks!

    Well done!
    Stay JOLLY!
    D&S

    • Daring Kitchen really is great for that! ๐Ÿ™‚ I know it’s easy enough to open up a cook book, or look on the web for random recipes to try… But it’s so much more exciting to have these “challenges” and “post dates” to motivate (or “push” haha) you to try something new at least once a month! ๐Ÿ™‚ Always good to keep expanding the experience with food! ๐Ÿ™‚

      As for the two-nut butter, I was a bit worried about it to be honest… I wasn’t sure if it would work out, but luckily it was such a nice mixture! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m currently working on a recipe for a combination of peanut and almond butter… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

