Daring Baker Challenge – July 2010 – Swiss Swirl Ice Cream Cake

The July 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Sunita of Sunita’s world – life and food. Sunita challenged everyone to make an ice-cream filled Swiss roll that’s then used to make a bombe with hot fudge. Her recipe is based on an ice cream cake recipe from Taste of Home.

Mmmm… Who doesn’t love ice cream and cake? This challenge was quite “challenging” in the way of assembly, at least for me… Making the ice cream was simple enough, as I’ve done sorbet before. Making the cake was pretty basic, too. The idea of combing the two was something I hadn’t thought of doing in the past, and I learned the hard way that you really do need to work fast with ice cream… 😉

For this challenge, I put together an alteration of the cake recipe along with a spin on the original ice cream flavors. I really love chocolate and coffee {I know, I know… Tell you something you DON’T know! 😉 } so I wanted to throw that into the mix. I had actually been going through a bit of Starbucks withdrawal, so I was motivated by cravings of sweet flavored coffee… I decided to name this dessert “Maple Mocha Latte Ice Cream Cake with Spiced Swiss Roll”…

Yeah, doesn’t exactly roll off the tongue… {Hah, Swiss “roll”… “Roll” off the tongue… Funny.} But I will say, the flavours I ended up putting together tasted pretty good! So I’ll spare you all the suspense, and get to the alternate ingredients I used for this challenge! Enjoy! 🙂

(Note: I am only providing the ingredients that I used for each part of the challenge. For the original ingredient list, and the METHOD for this challenge, click here! I also cut the recipe in half, as it was just for Joe and I.)

For the Swiss Roll:

Cake Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 turbinado sugar, ground to a fine powder
  • 8 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp boiling water
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • dash each of ground nutmeg and ground cloves

Filling Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whipping cream (35% mf)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla sugar

For the Ice Cream:

Ice Cream 1, Mocha:

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp espresso powder
  • 2 tbsp liquid honey

Ice Cream 2, Honey Maple:

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 2 tbsp liquid honey
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup

For the fudge sauce, I kept the recipe the same.

Method: As mentioned above, click here to view the full method for forming this dessert.

This was also a fun challenge for me because I decided to play around a bit with the plate presentation. I added some roasted coffee beans and chocolate pieces, along with a fancy little drizzle of the fudge sauce used in this recipe, and some maple syrup… I may not be some “high-tech” photographer, but it was a lot of fun to put this together. 🙂 Here’s some pictures.

So I had a bit of fun with the presentation of this challenge... ;)

So I had a bit of fun with the presentation of this challenge... 😉

The ending thoughts: We did both love this dessert… For me, anything with chocolate rocks. The only problem was that my vanilla ice cream layer melted before it set, so it kinda soaked into the Swiss rolls… So when all ice cream was added and set, and the cake was removed to serve and photograph, the rolls were pretty hard while the chocolate ice cream at the base ended up melting pretty fast… It was awkward to eat, but still tasty either way! 🙂

14 comments on “Daring Baker Challenge – July 2010 – Swiss Swirl Ice Cream Cake

  1. Your cake looks great! I love the way you did your plating with the chocolate and caramel. Nice job on the challenge!

    • Thank you 🙂 I made a bit of a mess of the cake when cutting it, so figured I might as well try something to take attention off of the fact that it was lopsided lol

  2. Girl, you did good. Again. I tried to make an ice cream cake once, and my attempt was a little easier because I didn’t make my own I merely transfered one I bought and it was a d i s a s t e r. It was a couple years ago or I would have pictures of it everywhere. Working with ice cream is so hard but you did so good. “High tech” photographer is relative. Your perspective and cooking-slash-baking ability comes through in your photographs and I rather like them. That being said I am totally head over heels for coffee and chocolate too so I would like a piece please. 😀

    • Thanks! 🙂 I’ve never done the whole “ice cream cake” thing before, even with pre-made ice cream. (Though, I want to try that now!) Except for one time, I layered some frozen yogurt with graham crackers, and another time with chocolate cookies… lol but that’s not quite a “cake”…
      To be honest, the home made ice cream isn’t my favourite. I really really really like the Chapmans frozen yogurts… And my favourite ice cream is mint chocolate chip from Laura Secord (not sure if I’m spelling that right…)… So this was not exactly my favourite thing to make, but it was still tasty. 🙂
      Maybe next time I’ll try it with store bought frozen yogurt/ice cream,and keep the cake as the home made element! 🙂
      And thanks! 🙂 I figure, the photos work as long as they show the food hahhahahah

      Ps: there’s none left. 😉

Leave a Reply

