Almond Flour Oatmeal Cookies

At this point, due to being in the transitional stages of moving into our new home, I have to keep my kitchen supplies to a minimum. This means 1) not purchasing the larger staple items once I’ve run out of them and 2) everything has to be kept simple. {KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid! 😉 } 

So when I started craving some tasty cookies, I was a little sad when I realized that I had run out of whole wheat flour. 😦 However, I STILL had a bag of almonds sitting around… After the lightbulb flickered a few times, it finally turned on and gave me this message: ALMOND FLOUR. With almond butter and almond milk making me beyond happy, why couldn’t almond FLOUR yield the same result of happiness? 🙂 I’m also trying to get “back on the healthy wagon” {greasy foods cause one to slip off the wagon…*cough* 😦 }, so I wanted to make sure these were filled with amazing things to give me energy WITHOUT all of the junk. 🙂 {Sidenote: if you omit the oats, I believe these are also suitable for those on a gluten-free diet. If I am wrong, please let me know!} So now I present you all with these healthy, aromatic and flavourful little goodies:

Almond Flour Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond flour {this can be made by simply processing about 1 cup of raw almonds in the blender until they have turned into fine crumbs. Don’t over blend, otherwise you’ll make almond butter! 😉 It usually takes 5 second pulses, about 20 times to get the texture that I enjoy.}
  • 3/4 cup oats {use whichever type you like!}
  • 1/2 cup flaked coconut
  • 2 tbsp ground flax-seed
  • 1/4 cup organic raw cane sugar
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2-3 tbsp smooth almond butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch each of ground nutmeg and ground cloves
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped {pitted} dates, soaked in about 2 tbsp warm water

Method:

  • Pre heat your oven to 350 F.
  • Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  • Allow the chopped dates to soak in the water while you’re making the cookie dough.
  • Add all dry ingredients together in a large bowl.
  • Now, add all of the wet ingredients {except the dates}, and stir until combined.
  • Slowly pour out most of the water from the bowl of dates, allowing roughly 1 tsp to remain in the bowl.
  • Add the soaked dates to the cookie mixture, and stir until combined.
  • Scoop about 1-2 tbsp of the cookie dough, and form into a ball. Place the ball on the parchment paper, and then repeat with more cookie dough.
  • Space the cookies about 1/2 an inch apart. They don’t really spread out too much, so you won’t have to worry about them sticking together! 🙂
  • Once all of the cookie balls are on the parchment paper, wet the back of a spoon and lightly press down the tops of each cookie ball. {You can even do that whole “thumb print” thing if you like!} Don’t press them flat though, otherwise they’ll dry out while cooking.
  • Bake in the middle rack for about 15 minutes. All ovens are different, so this is just what worked with my oven. Check the bottom of one cookie at 10 minutes. It shouldn’t be too much darker than the colour of the rest of the cookie. If it’s really dark, take them out right away! If it’s light, you can keep it in for the final 5 minutes.
  • Allow to cool for at least 15 minutes after removed from the oven. As tempting as it will be to try one, just trust me on this… 😉
  • Once cooled, they can be stored in a plastic baggie, or an air tight container, at room temperature for up to 1 week.
almond flour oatmeal cookies

almond flour oatmeal cookies

Note: Although I’m busy with full time school {and other things at this point in my life}, I haven’t completely forgotten about this blog! I will be trying my best to keep updating it with posts about many yummy things! After this weekend, I will have another entry for my House Cake Project, so check back soon! 🙂

5 comments on “Almond Flour Oatmeal Cookies

  1. What a great option, thank you for sharing this! I usually have almonds on hand when I’m out of most everything else. 🙂 These would really hit the spot right now with my sweet tooth!

    • You’re more than welcome! 🙂
      I really can’t believe how tasty these turned out… After an attempt at muffins with almond flour (still not quite sure what didn’t work with them…) I was worried… But so happy with the end result! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Frosted Peppermint Mocha Brownies – Made With Almond Flour « Cook With Nikki

Leave a Reply

