House Cake Project – Dedication Cake

I’ve been seriously lacking in the “recipe” department lately, but that will change VERY soon! 🙂 Today marks two weeks until our big moving day, and then I’ll be puttering around our new kitchen… 😉

There has been ONE thing I’ve been able to get done in the kitchen though, and that’s another cake! 🙂 My niece’s dedication was last weekend, and I was honoured to be asked if I could make a cake for the lunch gathering afterwards. I wanted to do something girly, but not too over the top. Purple was a key colour for this cake. I also decided to try out a few new things on this cake. I did a bit of a pattern on the top-tier, made my own chocolate “dough” for some roses, and even made some fabric out of fondant!

This was definitely a learning experience, and a whole lot of fun! 🙂

Here’s some pictures! Click the small images to see the full size picture! 🙂

Here's the second drawing of an idea I had (after I realized the first drawing wouldn't work out...)

Here's the second drawing of an idea I had (after I realized the first drawing wouldn't work out...)

The roses I made :) First time I've ever made flowers...

The roses I made 🙂 First time I've ever made flowers...

Side of the cake

Side of the cake

Just another view... There's a few of these shots... :)

Just another view... There's a few of these shots... 🙂

Another...

Another...

And another...

And another...

A better view of the roses in natural light :)

A better view of the roses in natural light 🙂

Different view

Different view

The top

The top

Another from the top!

Another from the top!

2 comments on “House Cake Project – Dedication Cake

    • Thanks! 🙂 It took a while to get the hang of it, mainly because the chocolate kept melting…
      I should have posted the picture of the FIRST rose I made out of this bunch hahahahaha… It looked like what gum looks like on the bottom of a shoe LOL…

Leave a Reply

