Eggnog Pancakes (Whole Wheat)

Ahh Christmas, the time of year when grocery stores sell EGGNOG!!!!! 😀

There are a lot of people who don’t really like eggnog… That’s alright though, because I LOVE eggnog enough for at least 200 people. It really is one of my favourite things about the Holiday season. I’m sure I’d get tired of it if it were available all year… But it’s only (easily) available for a couple of months, so I doubt I’ll ever get sick of it! 🙂

I know that eggnog is really high in fat, so I purchase Neilson’s light eggnog that has 30% less fat than their regular eggnog. (Woohoo! The details per 125 mL serving: 110 calories, 1.5 g fat, 10 mg cholesterol, 21 g carbohydrates, 4 g protein. Not too bad! I’ll include a picture at the end of this post for anyone wondering what the carton looks like…)

I’ve seen quite a few recipes for home-made eggnog, but I really can’t be bothered to make it myself. My urges to make things from scratch don’t always outweigh my laziness. Maybe I’ll try in the future… But for now, I’ll stick to enjoying it out of the carton, and using it in recipes!

I don’t have a picture to go along with this one, but that’s okay, I’m sure everyone knows what a pancake looks like. 😉 Here’s the recipe! This makes about 8 small-medium pancakes. For people who aren’t that enamoured of the flavour of eggnog, fret not! This recipe only has a hint of eggnog flavour, brought to life by the pinch of nutmeg. Enjoy! 🙂

Eggnog Pancakes (Whole Wheat)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup light eggnog
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch ground nutmeg

Method:

  • If you’ve made pancakes from scratch before, this is easy! Simply mix all of the dry ingredients together.
  • Then, make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients.
  • Add all of the wet ingredients.
  • Whisk together until fully combined, and set aside.
  • Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Test the heat by dropping a tsp of the batter onto the surface. It will start to show bubbles within 30 seconds. You can discard the “testcake”.
  • Pour out about 1/4 cup of batter per pancake, or however small/large you want them to be, and allow to cook until bubbles start to show and the sides are starting to look cooked and lightly browned.
  • Flip the pancake, and continue to cook for another 1-2 minutes.
  • Place the cooked pancake on a paper towel lined dish, and cover with another paper towel.
  • Start over again with more batter, and keep going until you are done!
  • Serve with syrup of your choice! I like to make a simple peanut butter maple syrup, like the one I mentioned here. It’s simply equal parts maple syrup and smooth, creamy peanut butter. I like to microwave the peanut butter for about 30 seconds before mixing it with the maple syrup. Tasty! 🙂  
THE eggnog

THE eggnog

3 comments on “Eggnog Pancakes (Whole Wheat)

  1. Pingback: Eggnog Scones « Cook With Nikki

    • Hello,
      I’m sorry to hear you’ve had difficulty with printing a recipe on this blog! 😦
      Unfortunately, the printing features on wordpress blogs are at the mercy of wordpress, and I don’t have much control over how that part works. I will be looking into it really soon though, as I have to make a few changes to the blog anyways. It ends up printing the whole webpage instead of just the recipe, and I can see how that would be frustrating! The only thing I can suggest until I can find a way to fix that is to print the file to a .pdf, and then print from the .pdf file by selecting the page numbers that you want to print. I hope that helps!
      Thanks for letting me know that it does that!

Leave a Reply

