Baked Falafel

Well this has been a busy time! I’ve barely had time to come up with new and random recipes because of school and work! Instead, my time is filled with working on assignments, studying for tests, and creating advertisements instead of tasty meals.

Sadly, I’ve also been eating out a lot more than I’d like to admit. However, there is a silver lining to that cloud! There’s this restaurant near my school that has a really tasty menu. One of the things on the menu is falafel. Deep fried… *gasp*

At home, we don’t have a deep fryer, but I really love a good falafel… So I did a bit of research, and found a way to make something very similar. The recipe I based my falafel on is here, but I’m going to post what I used including any changes. This recipe made about 16 medium-sized falafel, and they taste great on a whole wheat wrap with a little baba ganoush and shredded lettuce. And as much as I love the traditional method of cooking falafel, this is amazing! Enjoy! 🙂

Baked Falafel

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed very well (I also remove any of those yucky skins off of them)
  • about 1/2 red onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander seed
  • 1/2 tsp ground sea salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 tsp celery salt
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup prepared couscous

Method:

  • Pre heat oven to 425 F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • Combine all falafel ingredients (except couscous and 1 tbsp of the evoo) in a bowl, and blend with an immersion blender (or put through a food processor) until smooth.
  • Add the couscous, and stir until well incorporated.
  • Form the mixture into 16 equal sized balls, and place on the prepared baking sheet.
  • Brush each ball with some of the remaining evoo, and bake for about 20 minutes.
  • After the 20 minutes is up, flip the falafel balls over and bake for another 15-20 minutes until brown. (Not burnt, just lightly browned!)
  • Serve over a salad, or in a wrap!

Sorry folks, no picture of this one at the moment! If I get a chance to take a picture next time I make a wrap with one, I`ll post it. 😉

5 comments on “Baked Falafel

  1. Pingback: Spicy Lentil Veggie Burgers « Cook With Nikki

Leave a Reply

