Balsamic Marinated Strawberries With Goat Cheese On A Whole Wheat Baguette

Some very good words: sweet, fruity, rich, creamy, decadent, tangy, spicy…

Some very good foods: strawberries, goat’s milk cheese, whole wheat baguette, balsamic vinegar, cinnamon, nutmeg…

I know it’s not quite strawberry season, so I can’t get strawberries locally, but I just couldn’t resist grabbing some on my way home today anyways. On the weekend, I had a salad that consisted of simply: strawberries, goat’s milk cheese (so smooth and creamy!), candied pecans, and lettuce. It was so good that I’ve been craving something with a goat cheese and strawberry mixture constantly since eating that salad. I usually enjoy a strawberry or raspberry balsamic vinaigrette with my salads, but wanted something more filling for my pre-dinner snack. So I decided on this! Two things I can promise you: this is simple, and this is tasty.

Balsamic Marinated Strawberries with Goat Cheese on a Whole Wheat Baguette

Ingredients:

  • Skim goat’s milk cheese (less fat and calories than regular goat’s milk cheese!)
  • Whole wheat baguette
  • 1/2 lb strawberries (this will serve quite a few people, but if it’s just for you that’s okay, the left overs can be used to make some jam! Recipe coming soon! 😉 )
  • About 4 tbsp raspberry balsamic vinegar (you can use regular balsamic vinegar, however I really love the taste of this stuff… I’ll post a picture of it at the end of this post!)
  • About 1 tbsp organic raw cane sugar (or any type of sugar you like)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of ground nutmeg

Method:

  • Wash the strawberries, and then thinly slice them. Place in a bowl.
  • Add the balsamic vinegar, sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Stir, cover, and place in the fridge for about one hour.
  • Lightly toast as many slices of the baguette that you want, and spread some of the goat’s milk cheese on each slice.
  • Place a few slices of the marinated strawberries onto each slice of the baguette, and enjoy! 🙂

There’s nothing more to it! So simple, so tasty… Such an interesting blend of flavours! 🙂

You need to taste this! It tastes like it should be bad for you... But it's soooooo good! ;)

You need to taste this! It tastes like it should be bad for you... But it's soooooo good! 😉

The balsamic vinegar I really like :)

The balsamic vinegar I really like 🙂

2 comments on “Balsamic Marinated Strawberries With Goat Cheese On A Whole Wheat Baguette

Leave a Reply

