Cholula Hot Sauce Review

 
Look! I got a present in the mail! :)
Look! I got a present in the mail! 🙂

 

And who doesn’t like presents? 🙂 Especially spicy presents. Click below to read my review!
 
 
 
I’m a big fan of things that are spicy, and not just the “hot spicy”. I love spice with actual flavour! So when I was asked if I wanted to try out a hot sauce, I jumped at the chance!
This brand, Cholula Hot Sauce, comes in four flavours: Original, Chili Lime, Chili Garlic, and Chipotle. I haven’t had a lot of time to cook lately because I’ve been finishing up my first year of classes, but I’ve gotten to give a few of these a try! The Original I’ve cooked with a few times, and I’ve tried out the others on crackers. Here’s my thoughts!
 
I will be honest, I’m not a fan of the Chili Lime, but this is only because I don’t actually like anything that has a “chili lime” combination. I’ve never been one for those chili lime salsa, but when I tasted some of this one on a cracker, I definitely thought that it would taste great in a salsa for people who like that particular flavour. The lime is subtle, but fresh.
 
Now, the Original. Where to start? This one is pretty darn good. It’s actually my favourite, because I like plain hot sauce without flavours mixed in. It’s not as tangy as other sauces, and I like that. It’s also got more flavour than regular Tabasco sauce, and I like that too. I’ve actually used this sauce a handful of times now, and my favourite recipe that I’ve used it in is my Spicy Lentil Burgers!
 
The Chili Garlic is pretty good, especially for salsa. As I mentioned above, I like plain hot sauce. However, the one thing I like added into my hot sauce is garlic. So this one’s a winner in my books!
 
The Chipotle. I tried this one on some crackers, because I was too excited to wait until I could make something with it. This has such a nice rich, smokey flavour. This stuff would work wonders on some ribs or chicken (if you like meat), or in a BIG pot of chili. There’s a pot of chili that will be made in my kitchen very soon, and it has this sauce’s name written all over it!
 
Now, seeing as I’m going into advertising, I’m a sucker for good packaging. When I was told I would be sent some samples of the product, I pictured an envelope with some packets of the sauce. (And I was totally excited!) However, when I came home and saw a box sitting on my front porch, and I opened that box… I found a cute carton of four bottles (yes, bottles, not packets!) of hot sauce. One thing that really stood out was the lids of the bottles. They’re made out of wood, and each flavour of sauce has a different colour lid. I know it doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, but little things like that in packaging really stand out to me. I think it’s great when a company pays a lot of attention to the finer details like that.
Here’s some pictures of the bottles and packaging! After looking at them, go check them out here to find out where you can buy a bottle (or three), and visit them on Facebook! There’s a BUNCH of recipes and stuff posted on both their company page and their Facebook page.
Variety :)

Variety 🙂

I always thought 4-packs were better than 6! ;)
I always thought 4-packs were better than 6! 😉

 

2 comments on “Cholula Hot Sauce Review

Leave a Reply

