Peanut Butter & Carob Chip Cookies

So, there’s a thing. Here’s the thing: I work part-time in a grocery store. I actually love working there, because I have some pretty awesome co-workers AND I’m surrounded by food. A majority of the customers are great, too. Half of the customers are people who I end up having some really interesting conversations with about food, and I’d have to say that that’s probably one of my favourite things about working there…

With all the greatness that comes with enjoying a part-time job, there is one downfall… Some customers buy really, really tasty and tempting bad foods. I lose count of how many people buy packs of cookies. On one day a few weeks ago, it seemed that every customer that came through the check-out had peanut butter cookies. Then, one customer who didn’t have cookies was buying all of the ingredients to make peanut butter cookies. I couldn’t take it anymore! After my shift was over, I rushed home to make some myself! Though I skipped on some of the more common ingredients, and made a healthy little alternative! Chocolate also happens to be a big weakness of mine, but I’ve gotten really into carob as a replacement for chocolate. (I still eat chocolate…)

Anyways, that’s the end of my story… So here’s a tasty, soft, and chewy twist on a basic peanut butter cookie! Enjoy! I sure did… 🙂

Peanut Butter & Carob Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup turbinado sugar (you can replace this with whatever type of sugar you have on hand, however I really enjoy the flavour of turbinado sugar)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup carob chips

Method:

  • Pre heat your oven to 350.
  • Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicon baking mat, and set aside.
  • Add all dry ingredients into a bowl.
  • Add all wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.
  • Mix all until combined.
  • Spoon out about 2 tbsp of dough per cookies on the baking sheet. Press together with your fingers if it starts to fall apart.
  • Flatten the tops slightly with a fork, keeping the cookies about 3/4 of an inch thick.
  • If you like, sprinkle with a little more turbinado sugar.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the edges are LIGHTLY browned. Don’t bake for longer than 20 minutes, otherwise they will dry out.
  • Remove from the oven and allow to cool.
  • Eat, and enjoy! 🙂

    So good... You need to taste these! :D

    So good... You need to taste these! 😀

6 comments on “Peanut Butter & Carob Chip Cookies

  1. Wow! It’s great to hear that you really enjoy working at a grocery store. Being surrounded with food while working feels like not working at all. I’m a cookie lover and I find your peanut butter & carob chip cookies recipe very, very TEMPTING! Thanks for sharing this 🙂

    • I miss working there so much! I left a couple of weeks ago. It definitely didn’t feel like work, especially when most of the time I got to talk to customers about all things food related! 🙂
      I’m glad the cookies tempt you, thanks for reading 🙂

  2. The positive side to this is that you made them instead of the imitation store bought version! After years of my own baking and cooking, like you I am inspired by store bought substitutions. 🙂 Thank you for sharing this recipe!

    You probably make a lot of people enjoy their time in the store! I love making friends with…well, my friends at my grocery store! 🙂

    • 🙂 This is true! Homemade is always better… 🙂
      I’d have a pretty good time talking to some of the customers. It’s definitely a job that I’ll miss. I also fear working in another grocery store, because without it being in the smaller community that I was living in, I don’t know if there will be the same “feel” in the store. Who knows! 🙂

Leave a Reply

