“Fat Tax” in Denmark – Interesting Article

Denmark has imposed a “fat tax” on fatty foods in an effort to convince Danes to
eat healthier. The tax is a complex one, in which rates will correspond with the
percentage of fat in a product. The value of the tax is about $3.00 for every
2.2 pounds of saturated fat.

This is one of the more interesting articles I’ve read in regards to a “fat tax”. I heard about this being in consideration a while ago, and thought it was an interesting idea… I know we all enjoy treats from time to time (sometimes more times than not), but this would be a great way to potentially curb people’s decisions on whether or not they purchase healthy foods. Can you imagine what it would be like if it were actually more expensive to buy the “cheap, easy, and unhealthy” foods that so many people buy? Can you imagine what it would be like if it were cheaper to  buy a bag of almonds instead of a bag of chocolate/candy?

A common excuse for why people don’t eat healthy is that it’s too damn expensive to do so. I like to argue this point with people, because since I started buying healthier foods, my grocery bills are quite lower… However; if there were a tax on foods that are unhealthy, potentially a tax high enough for people to truly notice the price difference (and a tax that was high enough to make the healthier options cheaper), then maybe North America wouldn’t have such a problem with obesity. I know people like their butter, and their burgers, and whatever else… But I believe this to be a great idea. I’m not saying that everyone who is larger in size should lose weight, but I do feel it’s a great idea to incentivize people to make the right decisions when it comes to eating for optimal health.

I wonder what everyone else thinks…

Click here to read the full article, or click the quote at the beginning of this post!

2 comments on ““Fat Tax” in Denmark – Interesting Article

  1. I think it’s a brilliant idea. When eating healthy I think people think it’s more expensive because 1) they are used to buying empty-calorie foods in larger quantities. People who eat more whole foods recognize that the amount of spinach or almonds or whole grains it takes to feel satisfied is less than the amount of processed foods it takes to feel that same full or satisfied feeling. 2) they think eating healthy means only buying the smaller, more expensive apples in the organic section and, face it – most Americans want quantity over quality. 3) Places many people consider to be healthier – like Whole Foods – tend to be more expensive and when you try to translate your Kroger shopping list to the same items at Whole Foods you WILL pay more. Kraft Mac & Cheese vs. Annie’s? Yes, the latter is more costly. Cut out that processed food (or replace processed foods a few times a week with raw foods) and you see the savings in cost almost immediately. 

    I don’t think people who say they “can’t afford to eat healthy” just don’t know how to do it. And as someone raised on processed foods I know that it took me learning to cook to really appreciate raw, fresh foods, whole grains and lean meat to really appreciate the difference. 

    I’m sorry if I just blogged in your comments, but this post really got to me. 

    • I fully agree with your opinion! And I’ve gone through that same thing of being raised on processed foods, and not fully appreciating the value of “real food” until I was on my own and took an interesting in cooking. It’s amazing how different a can of zoodles (or whatever they’re called) is to an actual bowl of whole wheat pasta and home made tomatoe basil sauce can be.
      And it’s true, eating a serving of whole foods gives the body a full feeling for longer, without that bloated feeling from processed foods. I also find that when I’m cooking (or not cooking if eating a raw dish) whole foods, I don’t even need to season the dish with much of anything except for a few spices or herbs.
      The funniest thing is that you can totally buy healthy foods on a budget. I know that there’s this whole belief that organic is better, and it probably is… But even for families that are on the tightest of budgets, getting a bag of whole wheat pasta over white pasta doesn’t usually have much more of a price difference than $0.25. (Sometimes I even find whole wheat pasta on sale, and then it’s cheaper!)
      And with raw foods, I also agree! You can get a bag of apples for a couple of dollars. It’s cheaper than cookies or “fruit snacks”, creates less garbage, requires no prep., and is sweet and healthy! Yet at the grocery store I work at, I often see parents buying junk instead of something that’s clearly the better choice.. It makes me sad to see that, because good or bad habits are formed at a young age…

      Thanks for stopping by the blog to share your opinions, I always love to hear/read what people have to say about these types of topics! 🙂

Leave a Reply

