Peanut Butter Chocolate Tarts

This past weekend, the boyfriend and I decided to hit up a vegan potluck in Toronto. At a loss for what to make, I was originally going to make some spinach (vegan) cheese phyllo triangles. Unfortunately I didn’t plan far enough ahead (I’m a bit off of my kitchen game lately it seems), and discovered that I wouldn’t have enough time to make these little guys because I’d have to let the pastry thaw for at least 5-6 hours. I’ve worked with this stuff many times before, and the best way to work with it without the sheets ripping is to do the thaw properly, and not use a microwave (or oven) to attempt a quick thaw.

So in the middle of the grocery store in panic mode, I decided to make something else. Thinking of some simple and quick desserts I’ve made in the past, I settled on throwing together some chocolate peanut butter tarts. One more thing – pie tart shells… Were they vegan? I look at the puff pastry – it had butter… Damn. I broke out in a sweat, hoping I wouldn’t have to Betty Crocker the tart shells due to buttery ingredients… I checked the tart shells, and score! They used vegetable based oils in the ingredients instead of butter. Happy Nikki.

So I tossed a package of shells in my basket, grabbed some more key ingredients, and went home to get started.

Oh, you may want to know what ingredients I used in these… So here you go! These are super simple to put together, and look really cute!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Tarts

Ingredients:

  • 15 mini pie tart shells

Peanut Butter Mousse

  • ½ cup silken tofu
  • ½ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2-3 tbsp maple flavoured agave nectar (can sub. any liquid sweetener you like here, and this is purely to taste)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

Chocolate Base

  • 3 squares unsweetened dark chocolate if using Baker’s chocolate. Otherwise, about ½ cup chopped dark chocolate of your choice
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar

Garnish

  • Slivered almonds

Method:

  • Bake the pie tart shells according to the package directions, and set aside to cool
  • Mix all ingredients for the peanut butter mousse in a food processor, and mix until combined. Allow to cool in the fridge while preparing the chocolate.
  • In a saucepan, melt the chocolate with the agave nectar. Once the chocolate is melted, spoon about 1 tsp of chocolate into each shell, and allow to cool for a few minutes.
  • Take the peanut butter mousse out of the fridge, and put about 1 tbsp of mousse in each shell.
  • Garnish with slivered almonds.
  • Eat, and enjoy! 🙂
Pre-moussing!

Pre-moussing!

 

Moussed and garnished!

Moussed and garnished!

Ready to serve! :)

Ready to serve! 🙂

 

2 comments on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Tarts

Leave a comment