Strawberry Filling for Strawberry Cream Chocolates

With my love of chocolate, and wanting something berry flavoured (and not artificial!), I decided to make a strawberry filling for some chocolates I was planning on making for an event this upcoming weekend. This combination turned out WAY better than I thought it would, and I’m so thankful that it worked on the first try, because this is now my go-to strawberry filling recipe! For the chocolates, follow the chocolate mold instructions from my older post.

Strawberry Filling for Strawberry Cream Chocolates

Enough for 24 candies.

Ingredients:

  • 4 frozen strawberries
  • 1/5 cup marshmallows
  • 1/4 cup white chocolate molding wafers
  • 3/4 cup icing sugar (add more if cream is too thin after refrigeration)

Method:

  • Place strawberries in a microwave safe bowl,and microwave until strawberries are soft.
  • Immediately add the marshmallows and white chocolate molding wafers, and microwave for about 30 seconds more until the strawberries are soft enough to mash, and the chocolate and marshmallows are starting to melt.
  • Remove from the microwave, and stir the mixture until it is evenly blended. If you need to melt the marshmallows, microwave again at 10 second intervals (stirring between each interval) until all is melted.
  • Add in the icing sugar, 1/4 cup at a time, and stir until combined.
  • Allow to cool in the fridge for 20-30 minutes before using with the chocolate mold.
cooling in the fridge

cooling in the fridge

Strawberry Cream Filled Chocolates (pink & white are both white chocolate, and brown is milk chocolate)

Strawberry Cream Filled Chocolates (pink & white are both white chocolate, and brown is milk chocolate)

18 comments on “Strawberry Filling for Strawberry Cream Chocolates

  1. This recipe looks so good and easy, I must try!! I have been looking for different fillings for my chocolates and this looks like a good one!! Thank you for sharing!!

  2. Thank you soo much for this. My husband LOVES the strawberry cream chocolates that come in the assorted boxes, but there’s always only two in the entire box. He often craves for them, so I’ll just start making him some myself. Question though. Can I just the plastic trays that comes with the assorted boxes to mold my own chocolates? Thanks again.

    • πŸ™‚ You’re more than welcome! πŸ™‚ Those chocolates (pot of gold is usually the one i eat) that are cream filled, oh my… so good! The orange ones are great too, but i can’t seem to get the right taste for that one… I’ve used the orange extract, but it’s just not the same…
      This filling I made doesn’t have the exact taste of the store bought ones, but it’s very “real” tasting, because it’s real strawberries.. πŸ™‚

      The plastic trays that come with the assorted boxes… I’m not 100% sure if you could use those, as they’re a really thin plastic that are just designed to store the chocolates… I wouldn’t suggest it, as there’s a good chance the plastic will melt under the chocolate…
      If you have a Bulk Barn near you, or even a Michael’s craft store, you can get the trays meant for making chocolates pretty cheap, I believe around $2.50 at the most…

      Good luck with it, if you come up with some great flavours, let me know! I’m going to try making an eggnog filled chocolate soon! πŸ™‚

  3. These really look good……….i am just fond of chocolates and i do make them too. i was looking out for a strawberry filing cause they taste fabulous with chocolates. thanks a lot for the recipe will try them soon.

  4. Finally found a chocolate filling without cream!!. Thank you for the recipe but before i do , just want to check if the chocolate molding wafers are converture chocolate?

  5. This is going to be my first time making chocolates with a cream fillings, and I have a question. Is icing sugar the same thing as confectionor’s sugar?
    Thanks, they look so delicious!! I wonder if I use fresh orange juice, and zest I could make they orange cream filled, they are one of my favorites….well i’ll try.
    Thanks for the post on these chocolates!

    • Hi! Sorry for the late response, I’ve been away from my computer for a while…
      In response to your question, yes they are both the same thing. That sugar is often called either icing sugar, confectioner’s sugar, or powdered sugar depending on where you live.
      And thank you! πŸ™‚ They were pretty tasty, this makes me wish I had made more this Christmas… Maybe I’ll do some for a few friends on Valentines Day!
      As for the orange juice and zest, that would taste amazing! One thing to be careful of is how thin the cream filling may be if you add orange juice. To get the right burst of flavour, you may need to use a lot of orange juice which could cause the cream to not harden enough for the chocolate to fully set. Using the zest will add an interesting punch of flavour, and the icing sugar will help take away the bitterness of the zest, so that would taste amazing… One thing to consider trying is orange extract, but if you use that, only use a small amount because it’s really strong!
      Hope they work out for you! πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading. πŸ™‚

  6. Hey… I love this posting… I stumbled across it and am now soooooo super happy about it….But 1 question, how long do you think these would last? do they have to be refridferated? Thanks abunch…:)

    • Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚ I’m glad you like this. With the chocolates, I would keep them in the fridge, and probably consume them within the week (5-7 days) because it’s real fruit being used instead of artificial flavouring.

  7. thank you! i’ve been looking for a recipe all weekend that didn’t require me to use a whole package of candy fondant. i have a candy mold for strawberries, and only looking to make a small amount. the fondant packages only gave the recipe for the full package.. ugh!

Leave a comment