Baked Apple Chips (Cinnamon Flavour)

With how much I love dried fruit, I’m still amazed that I do not own a food dehydrator. I really like the taste of apple chips, so light and crispy with just a hint of flavour, and they’re great in cereal, oatmeal or as a snack at any time of day… But I’m not a fan of paying the price that grocery stores charge for them. Holding the two remaining fuji apples from my fridge in hand, I looked at the oven and a lightbulb turned on right above my head! (Yes, just like in the cartoons…) I figured I might as well give it a go, and I was pleasantly surprised with how perfect these turned out! Apple chips are super simple to make, they just require a bit of time… Oh yeah, and they’re SUPER healthy! Here’s what I did!

This recipe serves 2… Or… Most likely 1 once you taste them…

Baked Apple Chips (Cinnamon Flavour)

Ingredients:

  • 2 Fuji apples (feel free to experiment with different types of apples. I prefer Fuji apples over most, because they’re slightly more crispy than some other types, and have a soft and sweet flavour.)
  • approx. 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • optional: 1 tsp brown sugar
  • parchment paper
  • baking/cookie sheet

Method:

  • Pre heat your oven to 200 degrees F. (LOW SETTING!)
  • Line the baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • To prepare the apples: Cut the tops and bottoms off of the apples, and cut the apples in half lengthwise. Cut the cores out of the apples. You CAN leave the cores in as baking them makes them edible, but I like to remove them. If you want smaller chips, cut each half in half again. Holding the apple steady skin side on the cutting board, with a steady hand and a sharp knife, slice the apples into thin uniform slices. You want them to be thin, but not TOO thin. You also want them to be as even as possible so that they dry out evenly.
  • Place the slices in one layer on the prepared baking sheet.
  • Sprinkle with a layer of cinnamon, and if using brown sugar this is when you sprinkle it on too.
  • Place on the middle rack in the oven, and keep the door slightly open by placing a tin foil roll/box (or a wooden rolling-pin/wooden spoon) in the top corner of the door. This needs to be done so that a vent is provided for the moisture from the apples, otherwise the apples won’t dry out properly and you will be left with a mushy and somewhat mouldy mess of apple slices.
  • The total baking time will be between 1 1/2 hours and 2 hours, depending on the thickness of the apple slices. Check the apple slices at 1 hour to ensure they are not burnt. Check the apple slices again at 1 1/2 hours. (To do this, remove one slice from the oven, and place on a plate. Allow to sit for about 3 minutes, then eat it. If it is crispy, then you’re good to remove them! If it’s still a bit soft, keep the apples in for another ten minutes.) With the slices I baked, At 1 hour and 20 minutes they were almost done. I checked again every 5 minutes, and at 1 hour and 40 minutes they were completely finished.
  • Note: even when they are finished baking, when immediately removed from the oven, they will still be slightly soft. This is why to test them, you need to allow one slice to cool at room temperature for 3 minutes before testing it.
  • Remove from the oven, and allow to cool for about 3 minutes on the parchment paper. Then, remove them from the paper and place on a plate to serve.
  • For storage, simply place them in an airtight container and store at room temperature until ready to eat.
apple chips

apple chips

15 comments on “Baked Apple Chips (Cinnamon Flavour)

    • Thanks! 🙂
      Oh my… I would have never thought to try it with pears… That sounds great!!!
      At the suggestion of a friend, I’m going to play around with some vegetables this weekend to see if I can get the hang of veggie chips.

        • They are tasty! And yep, they really are easy!
          I was always unsure of making them in the oven… I’ve made baked potato chips, but they’re always slightly burnt on the edges… I guess it requires a lower temperature than what I’ve been doing… lol..

  1. Mmmmm…this looks great. Makes me wish I hadn’t given my mandolin to the goodwill LOL. Thanks for the comment on my blog, too. My son’s girlfriend Jo — Joanna G., I’m sure you know who I mean 🙂 — told me about your blog and I’m glad she did!

    • Aw thank you! 🙂
      A knife works so well for these, I thought I wouldn’t have been able to get the slices thin enough, but they actually could have managed to be slightly thicker… I don’t really know how to use a mandolin (or have one lol) so I’m glad/lucky that a knife does the trick 🙂
      And you’re more than welcome! Can you do those texture images with the layering in any version of Photoshop? I currently only have Photoshop elements…

      • Yes, I believe that every version of Photoshop Elements supports layering. I work in CS4 but have for only a few months, before that I was using Elements 6 (and Elements 5 before that). Give it a try! 🙂

        • Thanks, good to know! 🙂 When I get a chance to be at my computer, I’ll play around with the layering of photos for a bit to see what I can come up with. 🙂

  2. Pingback: What The Google, Foodie? « Cook With Nikki

  3. Pingback: Monday Munchies: Apple Chips | Words To Sweat By

  4. Thanks for the recipe. I did these this morning (second batch is in the oven now) and they’re YUMMY! The first batch will be gone by the time the second is done!

    • I’m glad they turned out well! 🙂
      Every time I make these, it’s the same thing! The first batch never makes it past the time of the second batch! 😀

Leave a comment